Use the button on the side of the screen that says "Appointment" to schedule time with us. Now you can set and confirm your Appointment 24 hours a day. We are always looking for better ways to serve our customers; giving you access to our schedule will make our communication easier and convenient.
Watercraft Rental Information and Policies
BOATING SAFETY CERTIFICATE IS REQUIRED TO OPERATE A PERSONAL WATERCRAFT (JET SKI) ACCORDING TO THE FOLLOWING MICHIGAN STATE LAW: (THIS LAW APPLIES TO JET SKI RENTALS ONLY, NOT BOAT RENTALS)
Those born after December 31, 1978, may operate a PWC legally only if they have obtained a boating safety certificate.
Michigan residents: Click here to begin the process of obtaining your boating safety certificate
Illinois residents: Click here to obtain your boating safety certificate which can be completed online.
Indiana residents: Click here to obtain your boating safety certificate which can be completed online.
Residents of all states can take the Michigan test or see your state's website for information on the equivalent certification.
Oselka Marina will only rent watercraft to persons 21 years of age or older. A valid driver's license must be presented upon registration. The watercraft will be assigned to the renter and a rental agreement, release and waiver, and orientation checklist must be completed before departing the launch site.
A 50% deposit is required before any watercraft will be reserved for you. This deposit will be credited to the rental fee at the time of registration. This is a non-refundable deposit due to the limited season and the demand for watercraft.
Hours of operation are 9:30 am to 7:00 pm Monday-Saturday and 12:30 pm to 7:00 pm on Sundays. You are required to arrive 30 minutes prior to jet ski rental time and 40 minutes prior to boat rental time to complete paperwork.
If reserving watercraft by check, your reservation will not be made until the deposit check clears.
All rentals require a $1,000 damage deposit. All damage deposits must be made on a pre-authorized credit card or cash deposit at time of rental. This deposit will be refunded 100% when the watercraft is returned undamaged, excepting normal wear and tear.
A representative of Oselka Marina will inspect each watercraft prior to departure for prior damage. An inspection sheet will be logged, and becomes part of your rental contract. We strongly advise you to perform your own inspection as well. Please be thorough, as you will be responsible for any damage found upon return.
If you plan to pay the rental fee by check, the full amount must be received and the check cleared prior to departure. In the event this does not occur, payment will only be accepted in cash or by pre-authorized credit card.
Swim only at own risk-never leave vessel unattended.
Children may only occupy vessel when accompanied and supervised by parent or legal guardian
Failure to arrive within 1/2 hour of rental time without notification will be considered a "no-show" and deposit will be forfeited unless time slot can be re-rented.
Oselka Marina offers NO insurance for damage to the machines. You may be covered under your homeowners insurance policy. Please check with your insurance agent about adding a rental damage rider to your homeowners policy if you are not already covered.
Oselka Marina is not responsible for any fines or fees incurred during rental
Prohibited items (jet ski rental only): Skis; Tubes; any and all water toys
Navigation limits: 5 miles eastward, 5 miles westward, 1 mile off shore
Operator has received a copy of the State of Michigan boating laws and must abide by these laws at all times.
Operator and all riders acknowledge that they possess a complete command of swimming skills and are thoroughly comfortable in the water.
Personal Watercraft (jet skis) shall not be used to tow anything, including but not limited to skis, flotation devices, water toys, etc.; tube and ski rental available for boat rental only.
No person who has taken any prescription and/or other drugs and/or alcohol that day may operate vessel; alcohol consumption prohibited during course of rental.
Oselka Marina, in its sole discretion, may refuse to rent to persons it feels are not qualified to operate the craft safely.
Oselka Marina may terminate, without refund, the rental of the craft if, in its sole judgment, the craft is operated unsafely or the renter violates any of the terms of the rental agreement or rental policies.
The person providing the deposit must be the one to sign the Boat Rental Agreement.
The rented craft shall not be used for any unlawful purpose or operated under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
Boat occupancy must not exceed boat capacity.
Any person not signatory to the Rental Agreement may not operate the craft.
WE ACCEPT: Cash, Check (must clear prior to departure,) MasterCard, and Visa credit cards. Any and all collection fees, except normal processing fees, shall be the responsibility of the renter and will be billed to your credit card.
Cancellations are eligible for a refund ONLY if we are able to fill the reservation. If not, the deposit is forfeited.
Guidelines For a Safe, Fun,
and Memorable Boating Adventure!
TIME OF DELIVERY:
Please have driver's license and boating safety certificate (if applicable) ready and your credit card or cash for your damage deposit.
Complete watercraft inspection checklist. We will be orienting you with the watercraft at this time.
Life jackets will be provided for each rider. Try them on to ensure a proper fit.
Complete, sign, and return the rental agreement, release and waiver, and initial checklist.
Inspect the watercraft one last time, you are responsible for any damage incurred while renting the watercraft.
Verify that you have a copy of the rental contract, liability waiver, and safety certificate (if applicable).
Return all items used for the trip. This includes the watercraft, life jackets, key and lanyard, any and all safety equipment. You are responsible for lost items and will be charged accordingly.
Report any problems encountered or damage that occurred while the watercraft was in your possession.
Review the watercraft with the Oselka Marina representative. Final signoff on damage report will happen at this time. Keep this report, it will protect you should any damage claims be made against you.
Leave e-mail address with Oselka Marina for valuable RETURN RENTER discounts.
ON THE WATER!
Watercraft must not be started or running in less than 2 feet of water. The propulsion system on these watercraft require drawing water from the lake and forcing the water from the back of the watercraft, creating a vacuum under the watercraft strong enough to suck up rocks, stones, shells, and vegetation. These items will damage the propulsion system, resulting in costly repair bills for you.
Pay attention to all traffic on the water. As these watercraft will be the most maneuverable on the water, it will be your responsibility to yield the right of way to all other watercraft.
No watercraft should be running if there is anyone in the water in the immediate vicinity! Severe injury can occur in a very short time.
Generally, the "rules of the road" on the water is similar to those on land. Oncoming traffic should be passed on the right, do not cut across another boats bow. When passing traffic going in the same direction, pass to the left, leaving as much space as possible between watercraft. A safe rule of thumb is 200 feet between watercraft.
Oselka Marina is a stong advocate of watercraft safety, and works closely with local authorities to ensure safety on the water. Operation of all watercraft is monitored by the New Buffalo Police Department, Berrien County Sheriff's department and the U.S. Coast Guard. Please be aware of all pertinent laws regarding safe operation of the watercraft. All boating safety issues are available to read at The Handbook of Michigan Boating Laws(©Boat-Ed).
State of Michigan Requirements Specific to PWCs
Each person riding on or being towed behind a PWC must wear a U.S. Coast Guard—approved Type I, II, or III PFD. Inflatable PFDs may not be used. See PFD age restrictions. You may not allow a child under 7 years of age to ride on or be towed behind a PWC unless with a parent or guardian or designee of the parent or guardian. The lanyard of a PWC's ignition safety switch must be attached to the person, clothing, or PFD of the operator. It is illegal to operate a PWC during the period that begins at sunset and ends at 8:00 a.m. "Sunset" means that time determined by the national weather service. PWCs must be operated in a reasonable and prudent manner at all times. It is illegal to: Jump the wake of another vessel unnecessarily close to the other vessel. Weave your PWC through congested traffic. Swerve at the last possible moment to avoid collision.
A PWC must be operated at "slow, no wake speed" if crossing within 150 feet behind another vessel unless the other vessel is also a PWC. You may not operate a PWC within 200 feet of a Great Lakes shoreline unless traveling at "slow, no wake speed" perpendicular to the shoreline. You may not operate a PWC in waters less than two feet deep unless you are operating at "slow, no wake speed" or are docking or launching your PWC. It is illegal to harass wildlife or disturb aquatic vegetation with your PWC.